It began with a dream, the concept of preserving and developing Fallasburg Village into a National and State heritage tourism destination as well as a place for local folks to come learn about their own history. The dream dates back to 1914 with the creation of the Vergennes Cooperative Club (VCC), a township women's group who realized they had a very special set of circumstances surrounding their cherished and unique village. At its zenith in the 1850’s, Fallasburg boasted more than a hundred residents and businesses that included two mills, a tannery, a general store, a boarding house and tavern, a post office, a schoolhouse and a wagon and harness maker. By 1854, Vergennes was the second most populous township in Kent County. Geography and politics conspired against Fallasburg Village when in 1856, the D & M Railroad (now the Grand Trunk Line) was laid through a tiny neighboring outpost called Lowell. Left in the shadow of this new transportation hub and out of the path of progress, Fallasburg Village became frozen in the antebellum and little more than a footnote in the area’s history. The survival of Fallasburg Village, can be credited to this failure as a commercial center. As a result, today, just as it was in 1914, there were a good many buildings standing from the mid-to-late nineteenth century representing the growth and development of a small town placing the village of Fallasburg in a category apart from the majority of rural settlements of the same period. Carry forward the dream to 1965, the Fallasburg Historical Society (FHS) was originally incorporated as the West Central Michigan Historical Society (WCMHS) in that year. For the next 34 years, WCMHS/FHS and Vergennes Township would work tirelessly towards fulfilling it. The Vergennes Historic Committee: Mrs. Judy Baird, Ms. Evelyn Briggs, Ms. Ruby Leeman, Ms. Marsha Wilcox, Ms. Joan Beebe, Ms. Virginia Tichelaar, Ms. Nona Kyser, Mr. Everett Wittenbach, Mrs. June Wittenbach, Mr. James Cook, Ms. Gladys Thelen, Ms. Connie Odell, Mr. Edwin Roth, Ms. Priscilla Lussmeyer, Ms. Ellura McPherson, and Ms. Judy Anderson, had their efforts pay off. In 1999, the entire Village of Fallasburg was designated as a “Historic District” by the National Register of Historic Sites and the Michigan Register of Historic Sites. Three properties, the John Fallas House, the Orlin Douglass/Tower Farm, and the Fallasburg Schoolhouse are listed on the Michigan Register of Historic Buildings. The Fallasburg Covered Bridge, the community’s most recognizable landmark, is listed on the National Register of Historic Sites as well as the Michigan Register of Historic Sites. The bucolic hamlet of Fallasburg Village remains a step back in time.